About COPOCO Community Credit Union

COPOCO Community Credit Union is a credit union, not a bank.  What's the difference?  The difference is the credit union exists out of an International social purpose of people helping people.  Credit unions are not for profit, not for charity, but for service decisions made based on what is best for the credit union members.  Also a volunteer board runs a credit union.  Every member has a vote in how the credit union is run. 

The Difference Between Credit Unions and Banks

Credit Unions Banks
Members are owners.  Banks are owned by a group of investors
Not for profit, not for charity, but for service.  Decisions made are based on what is best for the credit union's members. Exist solely to make a profit for their stockholders.  Decisions made based on what will give stockholders more profit.
A Volunteer Board runs a credit union.  Every member has a vote in how the credit union is run. Banks are run by the investors.  Their customers have no say in how the bank is run.
Credit Unions are not-for-profit.  This allows us to offer competitive dividends and loan rates. Banks are for profit.  The investors receive any surplus income, it is not passed onto their customers.

History of COPOCO Credit Union

COPOCO Community Credit Union was chartered on July 15, 1951 as The Bay City Division Consumers Power Company Federal Credit Union by five employees of the Northeast Division of Consumers Power Company. In 1954, they changed the name to COPOCO Federal Credit Union.  In 1965, they became a state chartered credit union and changed the name to COPOCO Credit Union.

Looking at the strengths and security COPOCO Credit Union was able to provide their members, several smaller credit unions began working underneath the umbrella of COPOCO Credit Union and were eventually merged in. The first merger occurred in the mid 1970’s with Bay Farm Bureau Federal Credit Union. In 1984, Bay County Area Credit Union was merged, in 1985 both Bay Electric Federal Credit Union and Bay City Electrical Workers Credit Union merged and in September of 1986, Bay City Postal Federal Credit Union merged into COPOCO Credit Union.

On June 1, 2002, the Credit Union changed the name to COPOCO Community Credit Union. With this new community designation, COPOCO is now able to serve Bay and Arenac Counties, the eastern portion of Gladwin and Midland Counties and the northeast portion of Saginaw County.

January 1, 2010 COPOCO CCU opened a branch at 3262 Cabaret Trail S., Saginaw MI through the credit union merger of Mid Michigan Family Credit Union.  Our community charter now includes all of Saginaw County.

To serve our membership more efficiently in the Great Lakes Bay Region, COPOCO CCU built and opened a third branch January 2, 2013. It is located within the heart of the region, at US 10 and Mackinaw Roads;1479 Straits Dr, Bay City MI.  This full service branch is equipped with many "green" attributes.   

COPOCO Community Credit Union's Mission Statement

It is the mission of the Board of Directors and staff of COPOCO Community Credit Union to provide excellence in service, helping each member realize their financial goals and dreams.




Equal Housing LenderNational Credit Union Administration
NCUA - Your savings federally insured to at least $250,000 and backed by the full faith and credit of the United States Government. National Credit Union Administration, a U.S. Government agency. Equal Housing Lender - We do business in accordance with the Fair Housing Law and Equal Opportunity Credit Act